Preventive Medicine

The Department of Preventive Medicine is involved in preventive medicine clinical care, education, and research for the School of Medicine. The department provides a comprehensive, four-year preventive medicine curriculum to all medical students. Graduate medical education training is available in a general preventive medicine residency, an occupational medicine residency, an addiction medicine fellowship, and a combined family and preventive medicine residency. The department works with and supports the School of Public Health, as well as various other Loma Linda programs in health promotion and epidemiology research projects—the most prominent of which is the Adventist Health Study. Preventive medicine faculty direct clinical services at the Center for Health Promotion, the Occupational Medicine Center, the Social Action Community (SAC) Health System clinics, and five separate Inland Empire university health services. A diverse faculty focus primary activities through the School of Medicine, the School of Public Health, the Jerry L. Pettis Memorial Veterans Medical Center, the San Bernardino County and Riverside County health departments, and various other regional and community entities.

Interim chair

Roger D. Woodruff

Primary faculty

Cono Badalamenti

Michael A. Caruso

Bonnie I. Chi-Lum

Amarilda A. Christensen

Ralph Clark

T. Allan Darnell

Marc J. Debay

Hans A. Diehl

Wayne S. Dysinger

Ngozi Margarete Ezinwa

Linda H. Ferry

Dominique M. Fradin-Read

Gary E. Fraser

Eric K. Frykman

Andrew H. Guo

George E. Guthrie

Kenneth W. Hart

Ronald P. Hattis

Ionela O. Hubard

Haitham Juma

Cameron D. Kaiser

Pejman Katiraei

Datis Kharrazian

Paul Kim

Aileen Lo

Jason L. Lohr

Ariane Marie-Mitchell

Rikki Martinez

Joel R. Mundall

Claire Nelson

Eric Ngo

Michael J. Orlich

Alma M. Palisoc

Warren R. Peters

Douglas Plata

Ernest J. Prochazka

Carolina Abrew Quimbaya

Amy Reese

Joon W. Rhee

Douglas C. Richards

Paula D. Scariati

Akbar Sharip

Wilfred W. Shiu

Katherine E. Sljuka

Karen Studer

Glen A. Thomazin

Juna Tsao

Aristo Vojdani

Sylvie Wellhausen

Loretta Wilber

Dave A. Williams

April Wilson

Secondary and adjunct faculty

Mihran H. Ask

Herbert Giebel

Richard H. Hart

Mohamed H. Ismail

Jayakaran S. Job

John H. Kelly, Jr.

Wonha Kim

Synnove M. F. Knutsen

Jason Lohr

Susan B. Montgomery

Tricia Y. Penniecook

Bernyce Peplowski

Manjit Randhawa

Brenda Rea

Kevin Shannon

Robin Smith

Serena Tonstad

Stacey Wiles

Wesley S. Youngberg