Department of Counseling and Family Sciences

The Department of Counseling and Family Sciences is one of the three academic departments housed in the School of Behavioral Health at Loma Linda University. This department administers three master's degree programs—child life specialist (M.S.), counseling (M.S.), and marital and family therapy (M.S.); and two doctoral programs—a Ph.D. degree in systems, families, and couples that offers a clinical specialty (MFT) and a nonclinical specialty (family studies), and a Doctor of Marital and Family Therapy (D.M.F.T.) degree.

In order to augment academic and professional preparation for future careers, certificate programs are offered to students as well, including: drug and alcohol counseling and the pupil personnel credential.

The Department of Counseling and Family Sciences supports the mission of Loma Linda University, sharing its commitment to bring wholeness to individuals and families in near and far-away places. It values global outreach and seeks to provide opportunities for students to integrate knowledge and skills with diverse peoples in various life contexts. The department is proud of its well-qualified faculty who value teaching, research, and service; and who seek to build up their respective professions in tangible ways. The various academic programs have program accreditation and approvals and have been recognized for their outstanding work, high standards, and superior student outcomes.

Academic writing support

Students who need assistance can contact their program director to arrange individual support.

Combined degrees

The department offers a combined M.S./M.A. degree in marital and family therapy with clinical ministry.

A complete list of program instructors can be viewed online at <>.


Winetta A. Oloo

Primary faculty

Bryan M. Cafferky

Ian P. Chand

Brian Distelberg

Douglas Huenergardt

Zephon Lister

Lena Lopez-Bradley

Michelle Minyard-Widmann

Mary Moline

Winetta Oloo

Alisha Saavedra

Cheryl Simpson

Randall Walker

Jackie Williams-Reade

Secondary faculty

Siroj Sorajjakool