Radiation Medicine

The fundamental goal of the Department of Radiation Medicine is to provide optimal care to patients by means of ionizing radiation, much of it using proton therapy—the hospital-based application of which was pioneered by the department. This care rests on the foundation of basic, translational, and clinical research—which, combined with patient education, is always pursued to ensure that patients and their families receive state-of-the-art treatment planning and delivery, follow-up and posttreatment care, and support.


Jerry D. Slater

Vice chair, Clinical Affairs

David A. Bush

Primary faculty

David A. Bush

Dongrak Choi

Sharon Y. Do

Abiel Ghebemedhin

Joseph I. Kang

Lilia N. Loredo

Grant McAuley

Ivan C. Namihas, Jr.

Prashanth K. Nookala

Jerry D. Slater

Marcelo E. Vazquez

Ning Wang

Gary Y. Yang

Secondary and adjunct faculty

Gregory Nelson