The Department of Psychiatry provides educational programs that include clinical training and research for medical students, psychiatry residents, and psychiatry fellows.

During the first and second years, the Department of Psychiatry directs the teaching of the behavioral sciences courses. In these interdisciplinary courses, lectures and demonstrations cover a broad range of human behavioral determinants—including the biology, psychology, sociology, and psychopathology of behavior.  It also deals with a holistic concept of behavior and its spiritual components.

The third-year, six-week psychiatry clerkship includes: five weeks divided between two psychiatry treatment sites; and one week at an addiction treatment site. These clerkship experiences offer broad and varied training in the treatment of psychiatric problems of adults and children. Students also participate in an interactive, case-based seminar series.

Fourth-year medical students have the opportunity to take electives with psychiatry faculty in child and adult settings, as well as an intensive reading/discussion course in religion and psychiatry.


William G. Murdoch, Jr.

Vice chair

William H. McGhee

Primary faculty

Kristen K. Abrams

Julie C. Albert

Louis Alvarez

Donald Anderson

Ara M. Anspikian

James Barclay

Imtiaz Basrai

Nenita Belen

Christopher Berger

Basil Bernstein

Venkatesh G. Bhat

Jeffrey Billett

Reba Bindra

Daniel Binus

Andrew Blaine

Stephanie L. Bolton

Paul Bong

William Britt

Chadwick Burgdorff

Claudia Carmona

Clarence Carnahan

George Christison

Jamie Chu

Antonia Ciovica

Irene Ciovica

Richard Cranston

Hanumantharao Dameria

Lorie DeCarvalho

Michael DePriest

Jesse DeVera

Andrew DiSavino

Ramila Duwal

Carlos Fayard

Khairallah Fayazi

Mendel Feldsher

Sofia Firoz

Calvin Flowers

Ron Foo

Teresa Frausto

Nerissa Galang-Feather

Ihor Galarnyk

Steven Galarza

Vamsi Garlapati

Monika Gierz

Leia Gill

Bryan Goudelock

Cherl Green

Kevin Guber

George Harding

Stephen Harnish

Mark Haviland

Andrew Hayton

Jim Hwang

William G. Britt III

Chadwick J. Burgdorff

Risa Ishino

Kristina Jahng

Kristina Jahng

Clarence Carnahan, Jr.

Anca Chiritescu

Antonia Ciovica

Irene Ciovica

Richard T. Cranston

Lorie T. DeCarvalho

Ramila D. Duwal

Kari M. Enge

Carlos R. Fayard

Mendel J. Feldsher

Ron S. Foo

Teresa Frausto

Ihor A. Galarnyk

Monika S. Gierz

Leia D. Gill

Raafat W. Girgis

Mark G. Haviland

William A. Hayton

Douglas B. Holl

Joshua L. Horsley

Jerry D. Hoyle

Cameron J. Johnson

Allie Kaigle

Zoheir Kassem

Jennifer Kawase

Kevin Kinback

Ritesh Kool

George Koplioff

Maher S. Kozman

Serafin Lalas

Henry L. Lamberton

Larry Lawrence

Lindy Lay

Timothy T. Lee

Valerie S. L. Leong

Gina Lewis

Leigh Lindsey

Derick Ly

Jessie Mabaquiao

Jeffrey N. Mar

J. Stephen Maurer

William H. McGhee

Marissa Mejia

Athanasios A. Mihas

Magdi Mikhael

Jeffrey Moffat

Laurie Moore

Wadsworth H. Murad

William G. Murdoch, Jr.

Jared Nelson

Giao Nguyen

Thuy Huynh Nguyen

David Orea

Carolina Osorio

Dakasha Patel

Melissa J. Pereau

Erik Petersen

Lisa Phillips

Jonathan Porter

Gabriela Prieto

George Proctor

David Puder

Cesar-Michael Rafano

Frank Randall

John Riesenman

William G. Roth

Patricia Roth

Neeta Saheba

Christopher Schreur

Dragos Serseni

Marion Sherman

Katia Stoletniy

Monica Strom-Tone

John Tarr

Jason Thomas

Khushro B. Unwalla

Allison Vargas

E. Ray Verde

Roger S. Wenger

Dawn M. White

Ricardo J. Whyte

Bryan Wick

Donnell Wigfall

Tai Yoo

Secondary faculty

Bosun Chung

Mark A. Welch