Emergency Medicine

The philosophy of the Department of Emergency Medicine centers on a commitment to quality in its service, teaching, and research missions. This department functions as a crossroads interface between the community and medical center services—providing a point of access to medical care for many people who are seriously and unexpectedly ill, and whose conditions may be compromised by geographic isolation and socioeconomic disadvantage.

The objectives of the department are to:

  1. Provide and coordinate cost-effective, empathetic, compassionate, and excellent pre-hospital, emergency, and trauma services.
  2. Support and contribute to the achievement of medical education competency for all categories of emergency-care professionals.
  3. Develop initiatives that promote increased understanding of and improved techniques and skills in emergency-care practice, heighten positive perception of this specialty, and contribute to quality research in this area.
  4. Promote teamwork skills among the various services and professionals comprising the emergency medical system.

Division of General Emergency Medicine

E. Lea Walters, Chair

Lance A. Brown, Vice Chair Operations

Division of Pediatric Emergency Medicine

Lance A. Brown, Head

Division of Academic Affairs Emergency Medicine

Dustin Smith, Vice Chair

Primary faculty

Shaher Altoumah

Moosa Matt Azadian

Besh Rhyl Barcega

Emily Barrett

Robert Bassler

Taylor Battaglia

Deena Bengiamin

Lance A. Brown

S. Nohemi Caldwell

Brian Chen

Kevin Chen

Sarah J. Christian-Kopp

Lauren Cooper

Chelsea Cosand

Randall Culler

Lynda Daniel-Underwood

Morgaine Daniels

Andrew Davis

Marque Dietzler

Vi A. Dinh

Radu Dudas

W. Seth Dukes

Nellie Ekmekjian

Stacey Ernest

Molly Estes

Joseph Fargusson

Jessica Fields

Lizveth Fierro

Brian Foster

Shubhangi Gaikwad

Jeff T. Grange

Casey Graves

Steven M. Green

Mindi J. Guptill

Fairuz Despujos Harfouche

Korbin N. Haycock

Danielle Hindi

Sarah Holgren

Paige Ielati

Zan Jafry

Whitney Johnson

Sharmin Kalam

Aqeel S. Khan

Michael Kiemeny

Eugene Kim

Grace J. Kim

Peter Kim

Tommy Y. H. Kim

Sunghee Kim

Patricia Korszyk

Heather Kuntz

Kristina Kyle

Stephen Lin

Chin-Yu Jean Lo

Tasha Lowery

Jyh-I James Lu

Daniel Lymon

Darcy Mainville

Claire L. McArthur III

James A. Moynihan

Steven Tamba, NP

John Michael O'Neal

Ali Ozcan

Jessica Alvarez, PA

Nicole Mansur, PA

Davi Paletz

Karli Parlette

Sarah Peterson

Lisa Ponsford

Alayna Prest

Melanie Randall

Kimber Raswon

E. Ellen Reibling

Jon Boyd Roper

Daniel Rossie

Paul Savino

Mary A. Savory

Paul Schoerner

Jocelyn Seitz-Keough

Geron Sheppard

Thomas S. Sherwin

Karan Singh

Dustin D. Smith

Ernest Stacey

Jennifer Tango

Heather M. Tassone

Rachel Tena

Tamara L. Thomas

Cory Toomasian

Stephanie Tseeng

Nitin Ubhayakar

Kathy Valdeverona

Pablo Vargas

E. Lea Walters

Deborah L. Washke

Maciej Witkos

Brian J. Wolk

Timothy P. Young

Kimberly R. Zimmerman

Secondary faculty

Sara Johnson

H. Bryant Nguyen